A Fictional Existence

read.eat.read.sleep.

How to Kill a Reading Challenge

I finished The Drawing of the Three today, the second book in the eight part The Dark Tower series by Stephen King. While the first book The Gunslinger was a bit random and dragging in parts, this one brings the story together and lays down the foundation for the rest of the story. It is very easy to get hooked onto it, despite the fact that it is pretty much about trudging along a dull, featureless beach, with breaks in the middle for Roland, the last gunslinger to jump via disembodied doors into different years in our universe. My trawling on the internet tells me many people are huge fans of this series, hopefully I will not be disappointed. The local library seems to be carrying all the parts, only more good news.

With The Drawing of the Three finished, I’ve officially read thirty books this year, and am on track with my 2012 reading challenge (I was eleven books behind when I started on my reading crusade about six weeks ago), and only have six books left in my 2012 reading challenge goal of thirty six, with two more months to go.

Next up is The Phoenix and the Carpet by E Nesbit, the second part of The Five Children and It series that I wrote about a few posts ago, with the third and the last part The Story of the Amulet reserved at the library, should be able to pick that up in a few weeks’ time

45536768-76348945536608-97090

 

Twitbookclub selected two of my suggestions for next month, so next in the list is Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov and Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy by Le Carre. I got Lolita from a charity sale for 5 dirhams, and Tinker Tailor Solider Spy from a flee market in England for 50p. Both are in pretty great shape. Le Carre especially looks new.

45536625-198806 45536627-7081540

 

Heading to the library tomorrow afternoon during lunch break to pick up Wolf Hall, the 2009 Man Booker Prize winning historical fiction by Hillary Mantel. It’s sequel Bring up the Bodies won the Man Booker this year. One cannot read enough historical fiction. Will obviously also pick up The Waste Lands, part III of The Dark Tower series.

45536714-6101138 45536713-94767

So six more books, should keep me busy for another six weeks or so, and takes me to the end of 2012 Goodreads challenge, with probably a few weeks to spare. ONWARDS! *snuggles blanket*

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 3, 2012 by .
